en espaňol?
City of Fayetteville
a small a medium a large
Select Your Information Portal:

Section Navigation

Recently Added Files

Core Value AwardsFayetteville First

Events RSS FeedUpcoming Events

City Council



Fayetteville City Council The Fayetteville City Council is an elected body representing the citizens of Fayetteville. Under the current electoral system, the city council consists of nine council members and a mayor. All nine council members are elected from individual districts, and only citizens within the city limits can vote for those seats on the council. Citizens only vote for a candidate running in their respective districts.


Cumberland County falls under the requirements of the Federal Voting Rights Act. In accordance with that act, four of the nine districts are drawn so that minorities are assured a voting majority within that district. That creates the opportunity for minority representation on the council roughly equal to minority representation within the city's population. The mayor is elected at-large. A city resident wishing to become mayor must specifically run for that office. The mayor acts as the official head of city government and presides at city council meetings. The mayor is a voting member of the council. The mayor also appoints council members to city council committees and liaison positions.

In May 2000, voters approved the current election system of nine council members elected by single-member districts and a voting mayor elected at large.

Council members and the mayor are not full-time city employees, but they are financially compensated for their time and expenses.

Mayor Anthony G. Chavonne
Nat Robertson
Kady-Ann Davy
Kady-Ann Davy
Mayor Pro Tem
District 2
Keith A. Bates Sr.
Kathy Jensen
Council Member
District 1
Robert A. Massey Jr.
Mitch Colvin
Council Member
District 3
D.J. Haire
Chalmers McDougald
Council Member
District 4
Robert Thomas Hurst, Jr.
Robert Thomas Hurst, Jr.
Council Member
District 5
William Joseph Leon Crisp
William Joseph Leon Crisp
Council Member
District 6
Valencia A. Applewhite
Larry Wright
Council Member
District 7
Wade Fowler
Theodore W. Mohn
Council Member
District 8
Jim Arp
James William Arp, Jr.
Council Member
District 9