en espaňol?
City of Fayetteville
a small a medium a large
Select Your Information Portal:

Section Navigation

Recently Added Files

Core Value AwardsFayetteville First

Events RSS FeedUpcoming Events

City of Fayetteville Seal

The Fayetteville City Council is an elected body representing the citizens of Fayetteville. Under the current electoral system, the City Council consists of nine Council members (elected from single-member districts) and a mayor (elected at-large).

Fayetteville citizens can look at how the new City Council district map (Alternative 3C) compares to the old City Council districts, and alternative district maps that were presented, by following the link below to the redistricting process information. City Council districts were redrawn to conform with new 2010 Census figures, meaning some citizens will be in new districts for the 2011 City Council election.

At a meeting held on April 26, 2011, the City Council approved Alternative 3C as its preferred redistricting map.

Roadside Campaign Signs

Recently signed Senate Bill 315 allows roadside campaign signs to be placed within the rights-of-way of most state roads provided certain conditions are met. The legislation also applies to municipal roadways in cities and towns, which do not explicitly prohibit such placement. Conditions include size and height limits (6 square feet maximum and 42” maximum, respectively), as well as limits on location. Political signs are not allowed in the rights-of-way of fully-controlled access highways. The timeframe for erection and removal of the signs is changed to 30 days before the onset of early voting until 10 days after the election or primary. Removal of properly placed signs is a Class 3 misdemeanor.

City Council Candidate Q & A

Redistricting After 2010 Census

Helpful Information

City Council Services

Links to City Council Pages

2030 Plan Information

Ethics Information